World Twenty20 2014 Teams

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

2014 ICC World Twenty20, Bangladesh

ICC WT20 2014 in Bangladesh

2014 world twenty20 cricketThe 2014 ICC World Twenty20 will be the fifth ICC World Twenty20 competition, an international Twenty20 cricket tournament that will take place in Bangladesh from 16 March to 6 April, 2014 and is scheduled to be played in four cities in Bangladesh - Dhaka, Chittagong, Sylhet and Kaksbajar (Cox's Bazar). The official hashtag is #wt20

ICC World Twenty20 2014 News | Championship Schedule | Groups & Points | Teams | WT20 Warm-up Matches | WT20 Blog

World Twenty20 2014 Teams

In the fifth edition of the World Twenty20 cricket championships, a record 16 teams will contest, with the top 8 Test teams entering directly into the super 10 stage and hosts Bangladesh and Zimbabwe-who finished outside the top eight-competing with six other qualifying teams (Afghanistan, Ireland, Nepal, Hong Kong, UAE and Netherlands) in the first round from March 16 to 21 for the remaining two places in the Super 10 groups. It will be played in three cities — Dhaka, Chittagong and Sylhet and will have 35 matches in total.

The Teams

Directly qualified for Super 10
Qualified for group stage

Group A - Bangladesh and Afghanistan, Nepal, Hong Kong
Group B - Zimbabwe and Ireland, United Arab Emirates, Netherlands

The two groups of the Super 10 stage are:
Group 1 - Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, New Zealand, Netherlands (Group B Qualifier 1)
Group 2 - West Indies, India, Pakistan, Australia, Bangladesh (Group A Qualifier 1)

Ishant Sharma dropped, Raina retained

Yuvraj Singh, Roger Binny in Indian Team

Pacer Ishant Sharma was axed from both the Asia Cup and World T20 teams, while struggling batsman Suresh Raina who was dropped from the Asia Cup was retained in the T20 side. Opener Gautam Gambhir and veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, who were picked in the Rest of India for Irani Trophy, were not named in the ODI squad.

India ICC World T20: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain & Wicketkeeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Roger Binny, Amit Mishra, Mohit Sharma, Varun Aaron

Teams anounce World T20 probables

India WT20 Squad

The Indian cricket team selectors Friday named youngsters Sanju Samson, Stuart Binny and seniors Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh among the 30 probables for the Twenty20 World Cup in Bangladesh March 16-April 6. Discarded India openers Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir were overlooked, as well as Pathan brothers Irfan and Yusuf. Gambhir has 932 runs in 37 T20 matches with seven 50s, which is highest among the Indian batsmen.

The MS Dhoni versus Delhi openers rift might be a reason for both Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir not finding a place in the team. The relationship between Dhoni and Virender Sehwag reached a nadir during India's 2011-12 tour to Australia, when press conferences were used to take pot shots at each other. Dhoni's statement that the Sehwag, Gambhir and Tendulkar trio are slow, dragged the usually quiet Gambhir into the midst of things. After both were dropped from the Indian team, and the selectors picked only two regular openers - Shikhar Dhawan and Murali Vijay - for the tour of South Africa, Dhoni "named" Gautam Gambhir as the team's third opener while addressing the media ahead of the team's departure, almost mocking the senior opener.

India probables: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Amit Mishra, Rajat Bhatia, Sanju Samson, Ishwar Pandey, Umesh Yadav, Unmukt Chand, Mandeep Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Varun Aaron, Shahbaz Nadeem, Parthiv Patel, Karn Sharma.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.