World Twenty20 2014 Semi Finals

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

2014 ICC World Twenty20, Bangladesh

ICC WT20 2014 in Bangladesh

2014 world twenty20 cricketThe 2014 ICC World Twenty20 will be the fifth ICC World Twenty20 competition, an international Twenty20 cricket tournament that will take place in Bangladesh from 16 March to 6 April, 2014 and is scheduled to be played in four cities in Bangladesh - Dhaka, Chittagong, Sylhet and Kaksbajar (Cox's Bazar). The official hashtag is #wt20

ICC World Twenty20 2014 News | Championship Schedule | Groups & Points | Teams | WT20 Warm-up Matches | WT20 Blog

World Twenty20 2014 Semi Finals

Semi Final 2, Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur

Kohli takes India into the Final

Virat Kohli scored 72 from 44 balls to help India chase down the 172 South Africa put on board after winning the toss and batting first.

Reported earlier: South Africa won the toss and elected to bat first against India. Faf du Plessis comes in for Farhaan Behardien for South Africa while Team India remain unchanged from their last match. Shikhar Dhawan and Mohammed Shami remain out of playing XI as Ajinkya Rahane and Mohit Sharma stays in the team. The first semi-final was disrupted due to rain and hailstorm, which resulted in a 27-run victory by D/L method for Sri Lanka, and the weather forecast for tonight predicts heavy rain once again.

India XI: MS Dhoni (Captain & Wicket Keeper), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma
South Africa XI: de Kock, Amla, de Villiers, Duminy, Miller, du Plessis, A Morkel, Steyn, Hendricks, Tahir, Parnell
WT20 Semi Final 2, India 176/4 in 19.1 ov (Kohli 72*, Rahane 32) beat South Africa 172/4 (F du Plessis 58, Duminy 45*, Ashwin 3-22) by 6 wickets

Semi Final 1, Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur

Rain dashes Windies hopes, Sri Lanka in final

In Dhaka, Sri Lanka made 160 for six, and the rain and hail which stopped play when West Indies were on 80/4 from 13.5 overs made sure the Lankans progressed to Sunday's final with a 27-run Duckworth-Lewis victory. The win was sweet revenge for Sri Lanka who lost the 2012 final to the West Indies in Colombo. Sri Lanka had raced to 41 in the fourth over thanks to Dilshan and Kusal Perera, before they lost three wickets in the space of 15 balls. Jayawardene was run out without facing a single ball. Dilshan made a run-a-ball 39 before he ran himself out.

Reported earlier: Lasith Malinga, who skippered the team in Sri Lanka's last group match against New Zealand, will captain the team in the absence of their first-choice skipper Dinesh Chandima. All eyes will be on Rangana Herath, whose scintillating figures of 5/3 against New Zealand in their final group stage match propelled the islanders into the semis.

Sri Lanka XI: Kusal Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara (Wicket Keeper), Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Seekkuge Prasanna, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga (Captain)
West Indies XI: Dwayne Smith, Chris Gayle, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin (Wicket Keeper), Darren Sammy (Captain), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Samuel Badree, Krishmar Santokie
WT20 Semi Final 1, Sri Lanka 160/6 (Thirimanne 44, Mathews 40*) beat West Indies 80/4 in 13.5 ov by 27 runs (D/L method)

April 2014

Thu 03 Day/Night
13:00 GMT, 19:00 local
1st Semi-Final - (Winner Group 1) Sri Lanka vs West Indies (Runner Group 2)
Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
Fri 04 Day/Night
13:00 GMT, 19:00 local
2nd Semi-Final - (Winner Group 2) India vs South Africa (Runner Group 1)
Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
Sun 06  (Reserve Day 7th April) Day/Night
13:00 GMT, 19:00 local
Final - India vs Sri Lanka
Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.