Semis and Finals World Twenty20 Championship 2012

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

2012 ICC World Twenty20, Sri Lanka

ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012

2012 world twenty20 cricketThe ICC World Twenty20 2012 tournament consisting of 27 Twenty20 matches will be hosted by Sri Lanka in Sep-Oct 2012. The first T20 match will be between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe on September 18, 2012 at 19:30 local time to be played at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota. Latest News from the ICC World Twenty20 2012: WT20 2012 Cup Index | Championship Schedule | Groups & Points | Teams | WT20 Warm-up Matches

World T20 2012 Semi-Finals and Finals

Date and TimeMatchVenue
Thu Oct 4
19:00 local | 13:30 GMT
WT20 1st Semi Final - Sri Lanka vs Pakistan R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
Fri Oct 5
19:00 local | 13:30 GMT
WT20 2nd Semi Final - Australia vs West Indies R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
Sun Oct 7
19:00 local | 13:30 GMT
WT20 Final - Sri Lanka vs West Indies R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

Semi-Finals ICC World Twenty20 2012

ICC World Twenty20, 1st Semi-Final: Sri Lanka vs Pakistan at Colombo

Sri Lanka beat Pakistan to reach World T20 final

Sri Lanka Cricket team Pakistan Cricket team Mohammad Hafeez scored 42 runs for Pakistan but it wasn't enough to take them past the Sri Lankan total of 139 on a difficult surface - dry, turning and hard to score on. Lasith Malinga and Ajantha Mendis stifled the Pakistan batsmen to 31 runs in the last five overs, holding the opposition to 123/7. The left-arm spinner Rangana Herath grabbed three for 25. He was supported by two wickets each from seamer Angelo Mathews and unorthodox spinner Ajantha Mendis. Batting first after winning the toss, Sri Lanka finished on 139/4 in their 20 overs after the openers Jayawardene and Tillakaratne Dilshan put on 63 in 10 overs. Both teams made one change from their last games. Pakistan brought back seamer Sohail Tanveer in place of Abdul Razzaq, while Sri Lanka dropped Akila Dananjaya to play Rangana Herath.Pakistan XI: Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Nazir, Nasir Jamshed, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, Sohail Tanvir, Saeed Ajmal, Raza Hasan
Sri Lanka XI: Jayawardene, Dilshan, Sangakkara, Mathews, Mendis, Thirimanne, Perera, Kulasekara, Malinga, Herath, Mendis
WT20 1st Semi Final - Sri Lanka vs Pakistan: Sri Lanka 139/4 (Jayawardene 42, Dilshan 35) beat Pakistan 123/7 (Mohammad Hafeez 42, Herath 3-25) by 16 runs

twitter cricketcircle
Chris Gayle surprised one and all with his prophetic tweet after the first semi-final that Sri Lanka will play the West Indies in Sunday's final and he took it upon himself to ensure that he lived upto his remark in the 2nd Semis, scoring 75 off 41 balls.

ICC World Twenty20, 2nd Semi-Final: Australia vs West Indies at Colombo

West Indies thrash Australia by 74 runs; will face SL in the final

Australian Cricket team West Indies Cricket team Windies bowled Australia out for 131 in 16.4 overs at Colombo's Premadasa stadium after Chris Gayle's 75 runs pushed West Indies to 205/4. Gayle faced 41 balls, hit 6 sixes and 4 fours, combining with Dwayne Bravo for 83 runs. West Indies ransacked 25 runs off the final over bowled by Xavier Doherty which included four sixes. Kieron Pollard smashed 38 off 15 with three sixes. In all West Indies hit 14 sixes. Chasing a massive 206 runs total, Australia lost wickets at regular intervals and managed only 131 in 16.4 overs. Skipper Georges Bailey was the only success in Australian batting line-up with 63 off 29 balls, which included 4 sixes and 6 fours.Australia XI: George Bailey (Captain), Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.
West Indies XI: Darren Sammy (Captain), Dwayne Bravo, Samuel Badree, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels.
WT20 2nd Semi Final - Australia vs West Indies: West Indies 205/4 (Gayle 75*, Pollard 38) beat Australia 131 in 16.4 ov (Bailey 63, Rampaul 3-16) by 74 runs

twitter cricketcircle

twitter cricketcircle

ICC World Twenty20 2012 Championship Finals
Sri Lanka vs West Indies

R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

West Indies crowned champions

West Indies World Twenty20 Champions 2012 Sri Lanka Cricket team West Indies Cricket team World Twenty20A Marlon Samuels-inspired West Indies recovered from an awful start to beat Sri Lanka and clinch the World Twenty20 title. The West Indies, restricted to 137/6 after electing to bat, hit back to defeat Sri Lanka by 36 runs on Sunday. It was the Caribbeans' first major global title after a gap of 33 years having won the ODI World Cup back in 1979.Marlon Samuels smashed a heroic 78 off 56 balls to steer West Indies to 137 for six after only 32 runs came off the first 10 overs. The first run off the bat came off the 17th legal delivery. The hosts were all out for 101 in 18.4 overs. Picture: West Indies captain Darren Sammy and Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene pose for photographers with the ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup trophy in Colombo.
World T20 2012 Championship Finals, Sri Lanka vs West Indies: West Indies 137/6 (Samuels 78, Mendis 4-12, Malinga 0-54) beat Sri Lanka 101 in 18.4 ov (Narine 3-9) by 36 runs

twitter cricketcircle

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.