INDIA (A1) vs ENGLAND (B2) at Lord's Super Eight ICC World Twenty20 in England 2009

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

World Twenty20 2009 England Exclusive Photos

2009 ICC World Twenty20, England

ICC World Twenty20 England 2009

2009 world twenty20 cricket The 2009 ICC World Twenty20 is the World Championship for Cricket in the Twenty20 format. There are 12 teams competing in the Group Stages. The first two placed teams from each of the four groups (Group A to D) will move on to the Super Eights. Each team plays three games against teams they have not already played. (Teams divided into Group E and Group F). Fixtures are predetermined and have no connection to who finished first and second in the group. No points are carried forward from group stages. Top two teams in Groups E and F qualify for semi-finals.

Complete News Coverage of the Second ICC World Twenty20

ICC World 20/20 Championship 2009

ICC World Twenty20 2009: WT20 2009 Cup Index | Latest News | Results | Warm-up Matches | Group Stage Matches | Super Eights | Championship Schedule | Groups & Points | Twenty20 Teams | Venues | Live Telecast | Photos

ICC World Twenty20 2009

INDIA (A1) vs ENGLAND (B2) at Lord's Super Eight

Defending Champions India succumb to England and bow out of the tournament ‎

England Cricket team India Cricket team India, the defending champions lost to England by 3 runs in the crucial match at Lord's. After winning the toss, India elected to field, but were unable to take early wickets. England lost the wicket of Luke Wright in the second over and were 3/1, but Ravi Bopara (37) and Kevin Pietersen (46) stabilised their innings and England managed to take 153/7 in the allotted 20 overs. Harbhajan Singh was the most succesful bowler for India who bowled 4 overs and took 3 wickets giving away only 30 runs. India lost Rohit Sharma (9) in the 2nd over and Suresh Raina (2) in the 4th over and their scoring pace slowed down after that. From 12/1 after 2 overs, the Indians were only able to get to 62/3 in 11 overs. Yuvraj Singh was a glimmer of hope for India, when he took 17 runs off only 9 balls, but lost his wicket to Foster who stumped him off a ball by Swann. Towards the end of the Indian innings, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (30*) and Yousuf Pathan (33*) tried to take India to their target of 154, but they fell short by just 3 runs in the nail-biting finish of this match.
Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni continued with his experimenting, even in the must win match, playing Ravindra Jadeja instead of the experienced Irfan Pathan, and promoting him to No 4 in the batting line-up instead of Yuvraj Singh when India needed quick runs.

Though India will not advance to the semi-finals, they still have one more match to play, on Tuesday, June 16th, against South Africa. Winning that match will not help India's chances in this champoinship in any way, but it will give the millions of Indian fans something to be proud of about their team's performance in this ICC Twenty 20 World Cup.
2009 ICC World Twenty20 Match 20: IND vs ENG, Group E, June 14: England 153-7 (Pietersen 46, Harbhajan 3-30, Jadeja 2-26) beat India 150-5 (Pathan 33*, Sidebottom 2-31, Swann 2-28) by three runs

June 14 Preview: India vs England ‎

England Cricket team India Cricket team It is do or die for India and England who will take on each other in the ICC World Twenty20 match at Lord's on Sunday. Each team will have to win the match to have any chance of progressing to the semifinal, after losing their first matches of the super eight stage. India lost to West indies in the super eight stage, while England lost to South Africa
The last time India met England in a World Twenty20 was in South Africa in 2007, when India's master destroyer Yuvraj Singh had hit England's baby-faced fast bowler Broad for six sixes in one monumental over. Yuvraj finished that innings with 58 off 16 deliveries, as India made 219, chasing which, England lost by 18 runs.

ICC World Twenty20 2009

INDIA (A1) vs ENGLAND (B2) at Lord's Super Eight


India lost to England by 3 runs
Toss: India; elected to field
153/7 (20.0 overs)
150/5 (20.0 overs)

England Innings
b Jadeja
37 3 1
L Wright c Y Pathan b Singh
7 0 0
Pietersen lbw b Jadeja
27 5 1
Mascarenhas not out
27 2 0
O Shah c Jadeja b Singh
10 1 0
Collingwood lbw b Zaheer
5 1 0
J Foster c and b Singh
5 0 0
b Singh
1 0 0
Broad not out
1 0 0
14w 2lb 16
7 wickets 153 (20.0 ovs)

Zaheer 3.0 0 26 1
Singh 3.0 0 13 1
I Sharma 4.0 0 36 0
Yuvraj 2.0 0 20 0
Singh 4.0 0 30 3
Jadeja 4.0 0 26 2
Fall of wicket
3 L Wright
74 Bopara
92 Pietersen
122 O Shah
138 Collingwood
145 J Foster
145 Swann

Back to top

India Innings
Gambhir c Broad b Mascarenhas
26 4 0
R Sharma
b Sidebottom
8 1 0
Raina c L Wright b Sidebottom
5 0 0
Jadeja c Broad b Swann
35 1 0
Yuvraj st J Foster b Swann
9 0 2
Dhoni not out
20 3 0
Y Pathan not out
17 1 2
4w 4lb 8
5 wickets 150 (20.0 ovs)

Anderson 4.0 0 32 0
Sidebottom 4.0 0 31 2
Broad 4.0 0 21 0
Pietersen 1.0 0 9 0
L Wright 2.0 0 16 0
Swann 4.0 0 28 2
Mascarenhas 1.0 0 9 1
Fall of wicket
12 R Sharma
24 Raina
62 Gambhir
85 Jadeja
87 Yuvraj

Back to top

Umpires: S J Davis, E A R de Silva, AG Hurst, M Erasmus

England: Bopara, L Wright, Pietersen, O Shah, Collingwood (Captain), Mascarenhas, J Foster (Wicket Keeper), Sidebottom, Swann, Broad, Anderson

India: Gambhir, R Sharma, Raina, Yuvraj, Dhoni (C/W), Y Pathan, Jadeja, Singh, Zaheer, I Sharma, Singh

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.