South Africa vs West Indies Twenty20 World Championship 2007

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Twenty20 World Championship 2007

South Africa vs West Indies

SA vs WI, Group A: South Africa beat West Indies by 8 wickets

South Africa Cricket team West Indies Cricket team South Africa won the first Twenty20 World Cup match against West Indies by 8 wickets at the New Wanderers Stadium on Tuesday. South Africa won the match with some heroic performances by their top order a poor show on the field by West Indies.
West Indies literally gave the match away by bowling and fielding poorly in the match. Gibbs took full advantage of the situation and made things easier for his team. He hammered his second international Twenty20 fifty. His fifty came in 38 balls. South Africa started off slowly but steadily to chase the Gayle led 205 run target. South African captain Graeme Smith departed after making 28 off 21 balls.
South Africa were on 51 runs at the end of five overs with Gibbs on 19 and Smith on 24. AB de Villiers got out for 21 runs off just 9 balls. He was caught by wicketkeeper Ramdin while trying to hit a six.
Earlier, West Indies rode to a total of 205 runs in 20 overs in the first match of the Twenty20 World Cup against South Africa. Chris Gayle became the highest run getter with a score of 117 runs off just 57 balls. Put in to bat first by South African captain Graeme Smith , West Indies got straight into the groove by smashing South African bowlers everywhere on the ground.
ICC Twenty20 World Cup, SA vs WI, Group A: South Africa 208-2 (17.4 overs) beat West Indies 205-6 by 8 wickets

SA vs WI, Group A: South Africa meet West Indies in ICC World Twenty20 opener

South Africa Cricket team West Indies Cricket team Hosts South Africa meet the West Indies in the opening match of the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 on Tuesday in Johannesburg.
Both teams are clubbed with minnows Bangladesh in Group A, with only two being able to proceed to the next stage. South Africa have made a late chance to their squad drafting in Andre Nel for the injured Loots Bosman. The West Indies too have had injury worries over Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo, but both are expected to be fit for the opener. South Africa (from): Graeme Smith (Captain), Mark Boucher (Wicket Keeper), Gulam Bodi, A B de Villiers, Jean-Paul Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Justin Kemp, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Vernon Philander, Shaun Pollock, Thandi Tshabalala, Johan van der Wath.
West Indies (from): Ramnaresh Sarwan (Captain), Denesh Ramdin (Wicket Keeper), Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Pedro Collins, Narsingh Deonarine, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Runako Morton, Daren Powell, Ravi Rampaul, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Smith, Devon Smith.

Twenty20 World Championship 2007

South Africa vs West Indies


South Africa won the toss and decided to field
205 for 6 (20.0 overs)
208 for 2 (17.4 overs)

West Indies Innings - Close
Gayle c Boucher b van der Wath
57 7 10
Smith c Boucher b Philander
34 3 0
Samuels c de Villiers b Pollock
4 0 1
Chanderpaul c Boucher b van der Wath
10 1 0
Smith c Gibbs b M Morkel
4 0 0
Sarwan c de Villiers b Philander
8 0 1
Ramdin not out
4 1 0
Bravo not out
0 0 0
1nb 12w 4lb 17
for 6 205 (20.0 ovs)

Pollock 4.0 0 52 1
Ntini 2.0 0 19 0
van der Wath 4.0 0 33 2
M Morkel 4.0 0 30 1
Philander 4.0 0 35 2
A Morkel 1.0 0 16 0
Smith 1.0 0 16 0
Fall of wicket
145 Smith
152 Samuels
178 Gayle
182 Smith
188 Chanderpaul
204 Sarwan

Back to top

South Africa Innings - Close
Smith c Gayle b Rampaul
21 4 1
Gibbs not out
55 14 2
de Villiers c Ramdin b Edwards
9 1 1
Kemp not out
22 5 2
1nb 23w 4lb 28
for 2 208 (17.4 ovs)

Powell 4.0 0 34 0
Rampaul 4.0 0 52 1
Smith 2.0 0 37 0
Edwards 3.0 0 21 1
Bravo 2.4 0 39 0
Samuels 2.0 0 21 0
Fall of wicket
54 Smith
88 de Villiers

Back to top

Umpires: M R Benson, D J Harper
South Africa: Smith, Gibbs, de Villiers, Boucher, Kemp, Pollock, A Morkel, van der Wath, Philander, Ntini, M Morkel
West Indies: Gayle, Smith, Chanderpaul, Samuels, Sarwan, Bravo, Ramdin, Smith, Powell, Rampaul, Edwards

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.